[RESOLVED] Phishing emails
By
Robin Grant on July 10, 2008 in Impersonation.
It appears some of our users have been subject to phishing emails - if you have received an email that appears to be from Skype, please DO NOT enter your username and password as the result of this email.
Also, as a consequence of this, skype.com's mail servers are currently down (we are subject to a flood of bounced emails from emails that do not exist as a result of the phishing emails) - this means our customer support is not currently contactable.
We are doing our best to resolve this situation as quickly as we can and will post updates here as soon as we have them. Please bear with us during while work on solving this.
UPDATE: We are happy to let you know that our mail servers are back up, customer support is available and the phishing sites associated with this incident are no longer active. As a reminder, we strongly encourage users to be cautious when responding to any email that requests sensitive personal information.





Comments
I have been getting emails to my various accounts, proporting to be from Skype and claiming to have closed my accounts. The URL of the reponder is skype.activateprofile.com
A search using whois.com.au found the details for activateprofile.com as listed below. You can see that it was registered in April this year. I question why an individual would require such a domain name and if the details below are those of the legitmate owner of the domain then they should be sent protesting emails by all concerns Skype users and perhaps their mail server will groan under the pressure.
=-=-=-=
Registration Service Provided By: Rustelekom
Contact: info@rustelekom.biz
Domain name: activateprofile.com
Registrant Contact:
Viviana Milano (VivianaMilano@fontdrift.com)
+39.362220691
Via Adua, 109
Borgomasino, 10031
IT
Status: Locked
Name Servers:
ns1.hipnewmedia.com
ns2.hipnewmedia.com
Creation date: 21 Apr 2008 22:45:10
Expiration date: 21 Apr 2009 22:45:10
richard.vickery | Saturday, Jul 12
11th July 2008 Link said WWW.SKYPE.ACCESPROFILE.COM
Subject: Account disabled Type: Embeded HTML/Text
Alert: The users email-address has been added to the addressbook
Hello!
We have to notice that your account is suspended because Skype major Terms are being changed.
To re-activate your account you need to agree with the new Terms here:
Follow this link to re-activate: ACTIVATE
after that, your account will be automatically re-activated.
Thank You!
Skype Administration
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Protect Your Personal and Financial Information and account Password Skype and its representatives will NEVER ask you to reveal your password or another Personal and Financial Information. There are NO EXCEPTIONS to this policy. If anyone asks for your password by email refuse and immediately report this to security@skype.com
© 2003-2008 Skype Limited. Skype Communications S.a.r.l., 15 rue Notre Dame, L-2240 Luxembourg
Skype, SkypeIn, SkypeOut, Skypecasts, Skype Certified, SkypeMe, associated logos and the 'S'-symbol are trademarks of Skype Limited.
----------------------------------------------------------
The domain search came up with this:
Registration Service Provided By: Rustelekom
Contact: info@rustelekom.biz
Domain name: accesprofile.com
Registrant Contact:
Viviana Milano
Via Adua, 109
Borgomasino, 10031
IT
Administrative Contact:
Viviana Milano (VivianaMilano@fontdrift.com)
+39.362220691
Via Adua, 109
Borgomasino, 10031
IT
Technical Contact:
Viviana Milano (VivianaMilano@fontdrift.com)
+39.362220691
Via Adua, 109
Borgomasino, 10031
IT
Status: Locked
Name Servers:
ns1.hipnewmedia.com
ns2.hipnewmedia.com
Creation date: 21 Apr 2008 22:45:23
Expiration date: 21 Apr 2009 22:45:23
davgai69 | Friday, Jul 25
The annoying practice of sex and other dubious sites to bombard Skype users with contact info requests-- and this IS a security issue-- could at least be partially alleviated by incorporating the function already in the Linux Skype version of allowing clearance of new events-- this way the spammers won't get a flag that a user is active by recieving a block notice. (At the moment, the Windows version allows New Event clearing-- but only of attempted calls).
In the long run, Skype needs to take this issue seriously. I get spam even though I have taken the extreme step of giving my age as 14 (this should in principle block strangers from finding my Skype name by searching).
vakdad | Sunday, Aug 3
I have been hacked by this email! Now my credit card is charged, (I ve already called my credit card company), and my Skype account is blocked!! I ve already emailed customer support, please reactivate my account: yangmengplus!
Email: deathbeyond@gmail.com
zenithtutors | Sunday, Aug 31
I have tried but in vain, and didn't find any contact details for Skype.
I'm piss.. of by people conatcting me, as for exampel this:
Hey larschrchristensen, this Denise. Now I am looking for new friends. U can look my photo here: http://datous.com/album/prettygirl18/
Isn't it possible to make Skype banning these people, who just want to share my money, without doing a proper job.??????
larschrchristensen | Monday, Sep 22
I have received an email from Skype. but my username was written in wrong way. could this email be a phishing email?
stefano83_g | Tuesday, Nov 4
It is not a big issue according to my opinion in technology it possible that error will come and be removed by the experts,but skype service is very good,very nice and excellent thanks skype giving us so pretty services free.
Thanks and Regards
Clear cards
aslamjadoon | Wednesday, Feb 11
my credit card purchase a/c is supended/blocked why? i have checked both with my bank & credit card company who both say there is ample funds & my credit card does not expire until late next year - pls rectify & advise - george
margetts | Thursday, Mar 19
hi skype, my credit card has been suspended/blocked? i checked with both my bank & credit card company last week march/09 who both advised that there is ample funding & the credit card does not expire until late next year. pls rectify & advise - tks george
margetts | Thursday, Mar 19
Hello recently i received from Skype users i do not know chat messages with spam content which aims at selling some product related to Skype.
Here a copy of message:
------------------------
Peter Shepherd: Hi,
My name is Peter Shepherd and I am from Coffs Harbour on the East Coast of Australia. Do you like using Skype?
Maybe, like me, you use it to communicate regularly with your family, friends and business associates. Are you interested in using it to make new friends or business contacts around the world? If so, I have some software that you will like. It was designed for Skype users to connect with numerous people at the same time and you can download and use it for FREE!
If you are interested in exchanging contact information, I look forward to chatting with you soon.
Cheers, Peter.
---------------------
This person uses username petshep2
Could you please look into this? How come this person has my username and is allowed to contact me?
Thanks
B.
jesuisbenjamin | Saturday, Jun 6
I received the following online notification (read below) on my Skype a few minutes ago. It is suspect because my computer is not running any of the Microsoft software listed. I'm planning to ignore it. Any advice?
******************************************
URGENT SYSTEM SCAN NOTIFICATION ! PLEASE READ CAREFULLY !!
http://www.ondemandscan.net/
For the link to become active, please click on 'Add to contacts' skype button or type it in manually into your web browser !
FULL DETAILS OF SCAN RESULT BELOW
******************************************
WINDOWS REQUIRES IMMEDIATE ATTENTION
ATTENTION ! Security Center has detected
malware on your computer !
Affected Software:
Microsoft Windows Vista
Microsoft Windows XP
Microsoft Windows 2000
Microsoft Windows Server 2003
Impact of Vulnerability: Remote Code Execution / Virus Infection /
Unexpected shutdowns
Recommendation: Users running vulnerable version should install a repair utility immediately
Your system IS affected, download the patch from the address below !
Failure to do so may result in severe computer malfunction.
http://www.ondemandscan.net/
For the link to become active, please click on 'Add to contacts' skype button or type it in manually into your web browser !
ffernandez45 | Friday, Oct 2
Well, I fell for it an extent. "online notification" is now in my contacts, I blocked it but want to delete. How do I do that?
raenelldomingues | Wednesday, Oct 14
Got a Skype Message saying I won a Prize of a Samsung Notebook and Cash. Looks like a Phishing scam to me. You should check tomskyper.com.
尊敬的
用户:
本月期间,本公司现特举办全国大型随机抽选活动!很荣幸,您已经被系统抽取为今日公司送出奖品的用户。
您已获得奖品为(三星笔记本电脑一部以及
奖金)!
请您牢记验证码:(XXXX)登陆活动官方网站领取!
活动官方网站: http://tomskyper.com/
注:请用户保管好自己的密码及验证码:(XXXX)避免他人盗取冒领,谢谢合作!
josher19 | Friday, Oct 30
Translation:
Dear
users:
Periodically, the company specially organizes a national large-scale random drawing! I am honored that you have been systematically choosen to collect today's user prizes.
You have received prizes for the (Samsung notebook computers, as well as a
bonus)!
Please bear in mind the code: (####) visit the official activity Web site to obtain!
activity official website: http://tomskyper.com/
Note: Please protect your passwords and user code: (####) to avoid other people stealing & impersonating you, thanks for your cooperation!
josher19 | Friday, Oct 30